Staff

Management Team

Professor Saseendran Pallikadavath
Professor and Director of the Portsmouth-Brawijaya Centre for Global Health, Population and Policy
Faishal Aminuddin
Director
Henny Rosalinda
Executive Secretary

Distinguished Researchers

 

Professor Pal Ahluwalia
Pro Vice-Chancellor Research and Innovation
Phone: +44 (0) 23 92 844472 Email: pal.ahluwalia@port.ac.uk Biography At the University of Portsmouth Professor Ahluwalia is responsible for promoting a strong research and innovation culture with continued enhancement and expansion in CLICK TO READ MORE
Professor Khusnul Ashar
Population Coordinator
Phone: +62 816 553 631 Email: khusnalashar@ub.ac.id / Khusnul_ashar@yahoo.co.id Biography Professor Ashar studied for his undergraduate and Doctorate degree in Economics at Brawijaya University and was awarded a MA degree in Population CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Tamsin Bradley
Reader in International Development Studies
Phone: 023 9284 6143 Email: tamsin.bradley@port.ac.uk Biography Dr Bradley is an applied social anthropologist working in international development and has conducted research exploring the interfaces between gender, religion and development in India, CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Julia Brown
Senior Lecturer in Environment and Development
Phone: 023 9284 2489 Email: julia.brown@port.ac.uk Biography Dr. Julia Brown, a human geographer, is a Senior Lecturer in Environment and Development at the University of Portsmouth having joined the Geography Department in CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Lana Clara Chikhungu
Senior Lecturer in International Development Studies
Phone: 023 9284 61483 Email: lana.chikhungu@port.ac.uk Biography Prior to joining the University of Portsmouth I worked as a Teaching Fellow in the Department of Social Statistics and Demography at University of CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Ann Dewey
Interim Associate Head (Research and Innovation)
Phone: 023 92 844426 Email: ann.dewey@port.ac.uk Biography My full-time PhD was completed after successfully obtaining funding in the first round of the UK Department of Health “New Researcher Award for Nurses and CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Amy Drahota
Ageing Network Facilitator
Phone: 023 92 844432 Email: amy.drahota@port.ac.uk Biography Prior to my current position, I was a Research Fellow in the School of Health Sciences & Social Work, and on a part-time secondment to CLICK TO READ MORE
Carole Fogg
Senior Lecturer
Phone: 023 92 844439 Email: carole.fogg@port.ac.uk Biography After studying biological sciences and training as a post-graduate teacher at Oxford University, I worked for Voluntary Service Overseas in Nigeria as a science teacher. CLICK TO READ MORE
Marianna Gardener
Research Assistant to Dr Saseendran Pallikadavath
Email: marianna.gardener@port.ac.uk Biography As a mature student I gained a BSc (Hons) Physiology followed by an MRes Science awarded in February 2016. Prior experience and expertise gained is at the interface CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Assaf Givati
Senior Lecturer
Phone: 023 92 844418 Email: assaf.givati@port.ac.uk Biography I am a Senior Lecturer in Health Science and Public Health at the School of Health Sciences & Social Work. I grew up in Kibbutz CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Kieron Hatton
Principal Lecturer
Phone:  023 92 842831 Email: kieron.hatton@port.ac.uk Biography I have worked at the University of Portsmouth since 1992 and was Head of Social Work/Professional Lead from 2004 to 2013 at which time CLICK TO READ MORE
Professor Paul Hayes
Pro Vice-Chancellor Education and Student Experience.
Phone: +44 (0) 23 9284 3188 Email: paul.hayes@port.ac.uk Biography Professor Hayes is responsible for providing strategic leadership in the development and implementation of an ambitious education strategy for the University, promoting excellence CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Suzannah Helps
Senior Research Fellow
Phone: 023 92 844427 Email: suzannah.helps@port.ac.uk Biography I completed my PhD at the University of Southampton in 2009 with joint supervision from the Department of Psychology and the Institute of Sound and CLICK TO READ MORE
Professor Dylan Jones
Director, Professor of Operational Research
Phone: +44 (0)23 9284 6362 Email: dylan.jones@port.ac.uk Biography I am a Professor of Operational Research in the Department of Mathematics, and Chair of the Logistics and Operational Research Group (LORG). I have CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Amie Kamanda
Senior Research Associate
Phone: +44 (0)23 9284 4493 Email: amie.kamanda@port.ac.uk Biography I hold a PhD in Demography and Social Statistics and an MSc in Demography, both obtained from the University of Southampton. Between 2011 and CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Ngianga II Kandala
Senior Lecturer in Medical Statistics and Epidemiology
Phone: +44 (0)23 9284 2847 Email: Ngianga.kandala@port.ac.uk Biography I joined the University of Portsmouth in 2015 after qualifying in Social Statistics (Applied Statistics) from the University of Southampton and working as a CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Mohammad Mahbubur Rahman
Senior Research Associate
Phone: 023 92 842818 Email: mohammad.rahman@port.ac.uk Biography Mohammad Mahbubur Rahman joined the University of Portsmouth in 2016 and is working on the project ‘Examining the effects of demand side financing on maternal CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Chris Markham
Head of School
Phone: 02392 842893 Email: chris.markham@port.ac.uk Biography I qualified as a Speech and Language therapist and practiced throughout the Health and Education sectors. My PhD was in Health Psychology, designing and validating an CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Rebecca Stores
Senior Lecturer
Phone: 023 92 844425 Email: rebecca.stores@port.ac.uk Biography I gained a BSc (Hons) in Psychology at the then Portsmouth Polytechnic in 1990 and started a part-time PhD in the Department of Psychology immediately CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Sujarwoto
Policy Coordinator
Phone: 0341-543737 Email: sujarwoto@ub.ac.id Biography I am a public policy and social change specialist with focus on population health and well-being. I works on many aspects of population health particularly child health, CLICK TO READ MORE
Professor Kepi Sukesi
Board of Supervisors, Research Coordinator and Reviewer
Phone: 0341-551665 Email: keppi_sukesi@yahoo.com Biography I was awarded a Master and Doctoral degree from the Institute of Agriculture in Bogor, Indonesia, specializing in rural sociology with a focus on women and gender CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Alan Thorne
Associate Dean (Research)
Phone: 023 9284 3555 Email: Alan.Thorne@port.ac.uk Biography I graduated with a BSc in Biomolecular Science at Portsmouth in 1976 and stayed on in Prof Crane-Robinson’s laboratory for my PhD studies on modifications CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Annabel Tremlett
Senior Lecturer
Phone: 023 92 842839 Email: annabel.tremlett@port.ac.uk Biography I teach in the professional area of social work at the University of Portsmouth and also carry out research, which currently includes a follow-up study CLICK TO READ MORE
Professor Liz Twigg
Professor of Human Geography
Phone: 023 9284 2466 Email: liz.twigg@port.ac.uk Biography After graduating from the Department of Geography at Birkbeck College, University of London in 1984, I undertook my PhD studies in GIS and Health. In CLICK TO READ MORE
Professor Sherria Hoskins
Interim Dean of Science
Phone: 023 9284 6321 Email: Sherria.hoskins@port.ac.uk Biography I completed a BSc (Hons) in Psychology and Pg Dip in Psychological Research Methods in the Psychology Department at the University of Plymouth and was CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr James Brown
Principal Lecturer
Phone: 023 9284 2154 Email: james.brown@port.ac.uk Biography After graduating in Pharmacology from Portsmouth in 1990 I spent four years in the mid-lands and Kent as a PhD student at Aston University and CLICK TO READ MORE
Professor Matthew Weait
Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Phone: 023 9284 6012 Email: matthew.weait@port.ac.uk Biography Matthew Weait is Professor of Law and Society and Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of Portsmouth. He was CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Malcolm Whitworth
Course Leader Geological Hazards
Phone: 023 92 842264 Email: malcolm.whitworth@port.ac.uk Biography I am an engineering geomorphologist with research interests within the fields of geological hazards and engineering geology. These include landslides and slope instability and the CLICK TO READ MORE
Dr Joy Watts
Reader in Environmental Microbiology / Associate Head of Education
Phone: 023 9284 6211 Email: joy.watts@port.ac.uk Biography After graduating with a Biology BSc (Hons) degree from Liverpool John Moores University in 1995,.I enrolled on a PhD degree at University of Warwick and CLICK TO READ MORE